Bet on the Laurel Futurity

Bet on the Laurel Futurity

While the Laurel Futurity has undergone drastic changes in distance and surface over the years, the race remains an important event on Maryland’s racing calendar. Currently run at five and one half furlongs on turf, the Laurel Futurity is restricted to two-year-olds and was run for a purse of $100,000 in 2013. The Laurel Futurity, formerly run as a route race on dirt, was a Grade 1 event in its heyday attracting racing immortals such Citation, Count Fleet, Secretariat, and Affirmed – all eventual Triple Crown winners.

Laurel Futurity Racebooks

Getting a bet down on the the Laurel Futurity becomes an even better experience with the convenience, promotions and applicable bonus offers of an online racebook. Taking all of these factors into consideration, we've found what we think are the top racebook choices around.

* REMINDER! - you must be of legal age in your state or province to legally wager on thoroughbred or harness horse racing. Please bet responsibly!

Playing the Laurel Futurity Odds

One of the reasons we consider Bovada to be the best choice for your racebook wagering is the fact they offer track odds on all races, and then offer an even better deal than that through their win-or-lose rebate structure, giving 3% rebates on all win-place-show wagers, and 5% on exotics.

2016 Laurel Futurity Contenders

The 2015 renewal of the historic Laurel Futurity drew a wide open field of two-year-olds. Thunder Pass, an impressive maiden winner at Laurel Park, went to the gate as the favorite in the field of eight.

Formal Summation, ridden by Antonio Gallardo, broke alertly and contested the early pace with Louise the Laser. He put away that rival handily when asked and at the top of the stretch had opened up a commanding 5 ½ length advantage. Captain Pass rallied for second but Formal Summation easily held off that threat and won by 2 ¾ lengths. The dark bay colt earned his second career victory and was able to rebound after being pulled up and failing to finish the Tyro Stakes at Monmouth Park in his previous outing. 

2015 Order of Finish:              Win    Place   Show

1st:  Formal Summation          $6.40    $4.60    $2.80

2nd Captain Alex                               $11.80    $4.20

3rd: Thunder Pass                                           $2.40

(Also Ran: Rangers Coming, Mid Life Crisis, Split, Louise the Laser, Gotta Be Gold Scratched: Deltalina)

Check back closer to the race for the contenders for the 2016 Laurel Futurity!

Did you know?

Discontinued in 2007, the Laurel Futurity was restored in 2011 as a turf sprint. From 2004-2007 the Laurel Futurity was run at a mile and a sixteenth on the grass highlighted by eventual Kentucky Derby winner Barbaro’s tour de force victory in 2005. The ill-fated Barbaro would finish his career unbeaten before a catastrophic breakdown in the 2006 Preakness Stakes that would end his career and ultimately claim his life. Barbaro’s 2005 win also marked the last time the Laurel Futurity held graded status. In total, the Laurel Futurity has been held on two surfaces from five different distances since 1921.

In addition to the horses of Triple Crown lore, the Laurel Futurity has been won by other superstars such as Riva Ridge (1971), Spectacular Bid (1978), Deputy Minister (1981), Devil’s Bag (1983), Bet Twice (1986), Toccet (2002), and Tapit in 2003. The 1977 Laurel Futurity featured Affirmed’s victory over Alydar setting the stage for the 1978 Triple Crown trail where Affirmed would post narrow victories over Alydar in the Kentucky Derby, Preakness, and Belmont. In 1976, the race was won by Royal Ski, a horse owned by NHL Hall of Fame goaltender Gerry Cheevers. Jockey Edgar Prado, who is still active as of 2014, is tied for the most Futurity wins with three. The four other jockeys who share the record with Prado are inactive including legend Bill Shoemaker.